Food Friday: Soif

This week I have been making a very long and protracted goodbye to a solid running buddy, close friend, and neighbor who is moving soon (due to various travel plans between both of us this is really the last week I will see her). I’m super sad she’s leaving and made it my plan to see her every day of the week. Luckily, this also meant several delicious dinners (that I basically crashed, thanks to our other friends for letting me jump in!). On Monday we went to one of my favorite places to eat in Santa Cruz: Soif!

From Soif's facebook page

From Soif’s facebook page

My first two Food Fridays focused on a little more casual dining fair (Discretion and Picnic Basket). But Soif is a little more fine dining with plates ranging from about $19 to $25 (depending on the nightly menu). And Soif has a huge wine selection. This time I had a roasted beet gnocchi (so good!) and a glass of a Pinot Rose (since its summer and all). My dining friends had pan roasted scallops with chicories salad with strawberries, radishes, hazelnuts, and shallot-wine vinaigrette and lamb cannelloni. Each time I eat here I always love my meal and am very pleased with great service. The serving sizes are perfect, you feel full but not stuffed (and I’ve never had leftovers… have to eat it all!).

Another Soif FB photo, this time of one of their entrees.

Another Soif FB photo, this time of one of their entrees.

If you aren’t looking for more expensive dining, I still recommend Soif for a good glass of wine. It’s located on Walnut, so you can enjoy a walk downtown with window (or regular) shopping and then a glass of wine (and maybe a delicious appetizer too!)

Loved the sign Soif had out front on Monday!

Loved the sign Soif had out front on Monday!

What’s your favorite downtown restaurant? How do you say goodbye when a good friend moves?

 

*At some point, I’ll remember to not scarf down my food and take a photo first to share on the blog!

Leave a Reply

