A Little Trip to the City

When I was in fourth grade, my parents took me to San Francisco. I remember driving over the Golden Gate Bridge, visiting Pier 39, eating chocolate at Ghirardelli Square, and getting a souvenir from China Town. But what I remember most is falling in love with the city. Ever since that trip, I’ve loved San Francisco. Back in southern California I cheered for SF teams (the hubs is still frustrated when I say I’m a Giants and a Padres fan), including cheering for the 49ers at the preseason San Diego game following their defeat of the Chargers in 1995. When we moved to Santa Cruz, I was so excited to be just 90 minutes away from SF. For a brief time, we considered moving to the city but we decided to stay put in Santa Cruz (good decision, love our town and its fun to have SF as a place to visit still). Anytime I have an excuse to make it up the city, I take it. So for the second year in a row, I joined the hubs for part of his time in the city attending WWDC. Last year, I came up for 2 1/2 days, this year it was just a day and a half. But still, so much fun!

My little vacay included good food (Tropisueno, GhirardelliSuper Duper Burger, 21st Amendment Brewery, and The Grove), window shopping (ok a little real shopping too), and some runseeing (my word for sight-seeing during a run, perhaps I could start a business doing this…). On Sunday night we had to enjoy margaritas and Mexican food since we were so close to Tropisueno. But then we were super bad and indulged in a sea salt caramel sundae from Ghirardelli. On Monday, we headed to 21st Amendment Brewery and restaurant. I am a big fan of their beer so I was excited to it out. I decided to try a blonde ale, since its not available outside of the brewery. The Conventional, name of the blonde ale, was really good. I don’t normally seek out blonde ales, so that was a nice surprise. Our table enjoyed several different beers (several of the hubs’ co-workers joined us) and we agreed that the Conventional was good, the IPA fans liked Gigantes IPA, but we did not care for Saison de Voile.

photo 1

Danger!

Danger!

photo 3

So many choices!

So many choices!

I only had a 6 mile run on my schedule for the time I was in the city. It was an easy run, so I decided to make it fun and take photos along the way. If you follow me on instagram you saw them all but here are some of my faves.

Always a good route for a run

Always a good route for a run

Saving the run over the bridge for the SF Marathon

Saving the run over the bridge for the SF Marathon

Not everyday I see a gold dude walking down the street

Not everyday I see a gold dude walking down the street

photo 4-1

This was my fave photo of the run

Ferry Building

Ferry Building

Cupid's Arrow

Cupid’s Arrow

The hubs did the Apple thing, getting up SUPER early (this is the one time of the year that he’s getting up before 5am and not the other way around) to get into the keynote. (Side note, the Apple fangirl in me is really excited about the new OS, Yosemite, and some of the cool things that will be connecting between Apple devices, and of course the Health integration, let’s hope Strava gets in on that!) For the rest of the week, he’ll be busy learning all the new stuff about iOS 8 and learning a new programming language (that sounds hard!).

But my little trip to the city is over and I made it back in time to vote!

photo 3-2

 

Don’t forget, today  June 4, is National Running Day! If you are in the Central Coast, join Santa Cruz Endurance and Santa Cruz Running Company for a 6 mile fun run (all paces welcome!). We start at SCRC at 6pm and then will head to Discretion Brewery for some beer to celebrate.

From John, the Running Joke Cartoon artist & SCE member

From John, the Running Joke Cartoon artist & SCE member

What’s your favorite big city? How are you participating in National Running Day?

2 thoughts on “A Little Trip to the City

  1. SF is my fave too! I love going to 21A; it tends to be a place we hit whenever we can. Cellarmaker taphouse in SOMA is also a good find if you are every around there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

