Fit Friday: Hills, Trails, & Whales

It’s Fit Friday!  And I can’t believe that May is nearly over!

As we enter into June and are nearing the half way mark of 2014, it seems like a good time to check in with goals. As my readers know, 2014 has been about running trails and climbing. And I’ve been keeping up with the climbing part of the goals, averaging about 2000 feet of climbing for the past 7 weeks of training (that’s skipping my rest week about a month ago) and totaling 36,736 feet of climbing this year! This week I’m at nearly 1200 feet and am planning to include a good climb on my long run tomorrow. I have been pretty diligent with trails part as well, although not as consistent as just getting in hill climbing. Last week a couple of my favorite running gals and I started exploring new trails behind my friend Leslie’s house. It’s a good mile and half climb to get there but totally worth it! We found a cool old house and a corporate training center nestled back there. And some loud peacocks that make you feel like you’re running in the jungle.

I think a good way to check in with your fitness is to sign up for a race. And if you’re in the central coast, I know of a great one! It’s the second SCE Whale to Whale race of the year. It’s a rogue race (meaning we use the sidewalks and recreational walks, not closing down the roads) that starts from the whale at the Seymour Marine Discovery Center and ends at the whale at the Santa Cruz Natural History Museum, about 6 miles. It’s only $10 and has prizes for the top three men and women finishers (thanks Santa Cruz Running Company!). You can find out more info here. I’ll be there, will you?

10366191_10152461358590948_4854233198879430131_n

Are you keeping up with your goals? Let me know!

FFL

 

 

2 thoughts on “Fit Friday: Hills, Trails, & Whales

Leave a Reply

