Volunteering at the Off Road Ramble

On Sunday, I got up dark and early (stupid time change) to help out at Fleet Feet’s Off Road Ramble. The race is a 5k and 10k loop through a county park, similar to a cross-country race. Leslie, Ashley, and I teamed up again to provide course assistance to those running the race.

1975207_10152064802899285_961832449_n

 

Sunrise as we marked the course.

Sunrise as we marked the course.

Leslie rocking the sexy volunteer vest as she goes to her spot on the course.

Leslie rocking the sexy volunteer vest as she goes to her spot on the course.

After helping to mark the kids’ run course, we headed out to our stations on the course. Before we knew it, runners were zooming past us as they took on a challenging course.

Fleet Feet team members, Margaret and Michelle, climbing up the stairs.

Fleet Feet team members, Margaret and Michelle, climbing up the stairs.

It was so much fun to cheer on the runners while also making sure they stayed on course. The course included several hard climbs and it was great to see runners push through the pain and overcome the hill.

Course

Course

I love volunteering at races, it’s almost as much fun to cheer for runners (whether you know them or not) as it is to race! Ok, it’s more fun!

After the race, I forced myself out for an easy couple miles and then napped for 2 hours. Seriously, that time change destroyed me!

Relaxing in my Wave Riders after the race.

Relaxing in my Wave Riders after the race.

Have you volunteered for a race? Did you like it?

One thought on “Volunteering at the Off Road Ramble

  1. I wanted to do this because I love their race series and this course has some pretty challenging hills that kicked my butt last year but it was my birthday! A part of me was like, “Julia, do it! What a better way to kick start your birthday” but another part of me was like, “Nah, girl. It’s your birthday. Sleep in.” Either way, I’m glad I didn’t do it because our dog ended up passing away that morning. :*( So it was better that I was there with the family. Super fun course! Glad you were able to at least volunteer. I hope to get back there for a run soon.

Leave a Reply

