Fit Friday: Running Translation

Yesterday a friend of mine posted a link to Google Translation for Runners (seriously, check it out it’s awesome!). The list includes common questions/comments and what they mean to runners.

I thought it was really fun and that I would share some of my favorites here.

“Oh, you’re from around here? What school did you go to? What year did you graduate?”
Translation: “Are you in my age group?”

“So, what’s your PR?”
Translation: “I’m comparing myself to you, and suddenly my confidence in my own ability is somehow related to your best time.”

“I hit the wall hard. I don’t think I fueled properly.”
Translation: “I went out too fast.”

“I don’t know what happened.”
Translation: “I went out too fast.”

“I was on pace for the first twenty miles, but then I hit the wall. Training wasn’t great. I’ve been battling an injury. And I just got over being sick. Guess it all caught up to me.”
Translation: “I went out too fast.”

“Yeah, I did twenty this morning.”
Translation: “Can you believe I just ran twenty freakin’ miles? I’m amazing.”

“I took some time off to let it heal.”
Translation: “I didn’t run last Thursday.”

“Today was a recovery run, so I didn’t even pay attention to pace.”
Translation: “I know exactly how slow I ran, but I refuse to tell you because it is not representative of my ability.”

“The race went really well. I felt good.”
Translation: “I had the race of my life. Please ask for details. I want to tell you how awesome I am.”

“The race didn’t go well. But it happens, you know?”
Translation: “No, you don’t know. You will never, ever be able to comprehend how awful it was. I cried. I puked. I walked. I had diarrhea. My body hates me. The sport hates me. The world hates me. I trained for four months for this? WHY ME? WHY?

I think I’ve said each of these meaning the exact translation provided. Such a great list!

What are your favorites? What is missing from the list?

2 thoughts on “Fit Friday: Running Translation

Leave a Reply

