Fit Friday: Winter Olympics

Today I had a rare rest day on a Friday. And so I was reading the web rather than running this morning and saw some articles about the Winter Olympics. It seems a fitting topic since we’re 2 weeks out from the games beginning.

Being a Californian, I’m not much of a winter athlete. I can hold my own on a pair of ice skates or a snowboard (although my fear of ski lifts kind of ruins it for me), but really I have no skills in these sports. But what if I did, what sport would I want to compete in? Clearly there are the obvious choices based on speed such as speed skating (seems similar to running on a track-ish) or cross country skiing. I don’t think any of the trick sports would be good for this clumsy gal. And I could never put my life on the line for the luge sports.

But then it hit me (along with the NPR story this morning), I could totally rock curling! Plus, really how much competition would I have in the US? I got this, right?

Credit NPR

Credit NPR

But one thing I can tell you, I’m not jealous of the USA athletes who will be rocking the Olympic version of the Ugly Christmas Sweater in Sochi:

Hundreds of knitters found gainful employment leading up to 2014

Hundreds of knitters found gainful employment leading up to 2014

 

What winter olympic sport would you want to compete in? Do you look forward to the games?

Leave a Reply

