Fit Friday: New Year’s Resolutions

Fit Friday is BACK! I know that’s been FOREVER since I had a Fit Friday post – but hey, it’s been a busy time. (Buying a house, ending the semester/quarter, having family visit, and going to visit family means for little blogging time.)

It’s a New Year so it’s easy to get caught up in the fitness craze, the desire to make and keep New Year’s resolutions (often associated with getting fit, healthy, losing weight, etc.). But I don’t buy it – I’m not into the New Year’s Resolution thing. I love the idea of setting goals for yourself. However, I don’t love the idea that just because we change calendars we have to come up with goals that can be unrealistic and at times set ourselves up for failure. I am more interested in making goals for myself that have nothing to do with 2014 but rather about what’s going on with my life, fitness, etc. So instead of an annual resolution (or set of resolutions) I like to keep up with goals monthly or semi-monthly.

thanks-not-laughing-absurdly-new-years-ecard-someecards

For the last few months I have been thinking about my running goals. Typically, it’s all about the PR and the BQ. For 2013, that meant a lot of racing and at times, disappointing results – a real bummer after my PR year (2012). I need to check back in with my running and my priorities. I am planning on running less races for the next few months (I am only currently registered for 3 races for the year right now, and all I’m considering “fun runs”). I plan to keep training but race when I feel strong not because 6 months ago I registered for a race. I’m looking at my weekly runs and trying to incorporate more hills and trails. I don’t want to stop running speed but I want to become a stronger runner too and so more varied runs are in my future. And so far so good! A couple weeks back, my long run included 7 miles of climbing (!) trails, yesterday’s run was half running up trails, and tomorrow I’m excited to explore a new trail loop with some new and old running friends (so excited!).

 

Screen Shot 2014-01-03 at 8.12.16 AM

Yesterday’s trails

So how about you? Do you have New Year’s Resolutions? Do you have new running goals?

 

7 thoughts on “Fit Friday: New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Holy Cow, what hill is that? In Santa Cruz? Can I join you on one of your weekend runs? Are you planning on running a marathon this year? So many questions! Great seeing you the other day even though it was only for a split second. Happy New Year!

    • It’s the climb up the ucon trail to campus. And yes, let’s run together. I know a longer version too (we might need to bring my friend to make sure we don’t get lost)

  2. I love this! I haven’t made a health related resolution in so long. My resolutions tend to focus on something emotional/mental/spiritual (i.e. having a more positive outlook, meditating more, blah blah blah). haha. Then I also did a ton of races last year and I really liked it. So as I’ve stated before I guess my resolutions this year is more physical: I want to continue running, get stronger and faster, and I wouldn’t mind shedding some pounds either; I mean…it wouldn’t hurt. But all of this isn’t anything new or something I haven’t already been focusing on. So that makes it more legit right? Hahaha.

  3. Pingback: Fit Friday: Continuing with Goals | laugh.research.write.run

  4. Pingback: Fit Friday: Checking in with Goals | laugh.research.write.run

  5. Pingback: The Carlsbad 5000 – World’s Fastest 5k | laugh.research.write.run

  6. Pingback: Highlights of 2014 |

Leave a Reply

