2013 – Oh What a Year!

2013 is about to come to an end. Yesterday, I hit 2,013 miles for 2013. Not sure I’ll make it a goal again for 2014 🙂

But now we are hours from a new year, so I thought I’d highlight some of the big events of 2013 before the year is over. (By the way, making this list was SUPER hard!)

10. Superbowl 10k
For the 4th year in a row, I ran the local Super Bowl race. While the Niners lost the game, I secured a new PR! This was even more fun as my friend Elise also secured a PR and we got to race with several other SCE runners.
And apparently, when I race, I give the stink eye!

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 5.07.23 PM

9. New Car
After 10 years with my little Jetta, we bid farewell. The hubs and I went green and got this beauty 🙂

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 5.10.30 PM

8. Summer Traveling
This year the hubs and I were EVERYWHERE! We started our summer traveling to So Cal to visit my family, celebrate his birthday, and then head out to Maui. After that we were in Washington (where we got to see Ken Griffey Jr. inducted into the Mariners’ Hall of Fame), Kentucky & Tennessee (me for research), Taiwan (Kevin for work), Colorado, and back to Washington. Phew!

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 5.16.49 PM

7. NWM Half Marathon
Another repeat race, but so much fun! This year a bunch of my running wives and I stayed in the city and took on the half marathon at NWM (and the full for Ashley!). We had so much fun in the city, drinking wine, eating sushi, and shopping. Every time I think I’m over this race, my friends bring me back in!

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 5.22.00 PM

6. Color Me Rad
This was the second time I’ve run Color Me Rad. Last year, four of us faced the color craziness. This year, a couple more joined in to celebrate Leslie’s birthday. I had so much fun! And props to the hubs for being the sole guy to rock this event with us. Seriously, guys, you all missed out!

We got a little colorful!

The hubs & I have hops! (check out that blue powder coming off Kevin!)

5. SFM
This year was the first year I served as a SFM ambassador. For me, it was more fun than I could have imagined. I got to spend the first half of the week with the hubs. Then I got to hang with some of the coolest runners I know… it was so awesome I had to write 3 blog posts about it! (check them out here, here, & here). I’m so excited for this year! Will I see you you there? (You can save $10 off registration with the code: DSC10TSFM2014A59)

Running down mile 11

4. Runs with the Running Wives
With awesome birthday baskets, lots of coffee, painful runs, failed PRs, stellar performances (I’m looking at you Leslie & Jenn!), and whale watching while running, these ladies have made this year sooo much fun! I love our time together, whether running or enjoying some catch up time over a pint of beer.

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 5.12.57 PM

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 5.13.24 PM

3. 49ers Last Regular Season Game at Candlestick
Go Niners!! This was my first game at the Candlestick (although not my first Niners game). I had SOO much fun! I got to hang with my favorite guys, see my team win, and finish the night with some of my favorite music and fireworks. Seriously, who could ask for a better day!?

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 5.32.44 PM

2. Wharf to Wharf 
Who knew this would be the best race of the year for me? I had focused so much on marathons that didn’t go as I hoped (LA and Santa Rosa), that Wharf to Wharf was just an afterthought. However, I PRed (with the help of the coach and Jenn). This is easily my favorite race of the year and the one I’m most proud of, even if I didn’t make the top 100.

Coming up to the finish

1. Buying a new house!
But in the end, the best part of this year is that the hubs and I purchased our first home. We are still making it feel like ours and getting into the groove of things but it does feel like home and we love it so much! We even got to host my parents for the first time at Christmas (and host our 3rd Thanksgiving). We can’t wait to see what future unfolds in our new home (and we thank both of our parents for all their help in this new adventure!)

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 5.38.13 PM

2 thoughts on “2013 – Oh What a Year!

Leave a Reply

