Fit Friday: Eating Fit

One thing I think that can be hard about being fit isn’t just finding time to work out (or getting motivated to do so) but also eating right – especially as we move to the holiday of candy, followed by all the Thanksgiving/Christmas reading. I personally believe in the “everything in moderation” philosophy. I partake in desserts when available and I enjoy a good glass of wine. But I try to compensate by eating healthy the rest of the time.

Many people believe that eating healthy can be time-consuming and expensive. It can be but I think you can make it work. I have the added challenge that the only meat I eat is fish, and well fish can be pricey so I have lots of no-meat days. Typically I start my days out with a filling but not-to-big breakfast (either some Greek yogurt and homemade granola) or a piece of toast with an egg. I try to eat a filling lunch and an easy, but good dinner.

IMG_3277

And to help you make a quick, easy, and healthy dinner, here is one of my favorite salad recipes (I don’t really measure so good luck with that).

Kale Salad Mix (I like the Harvest Sensations Brand, includes carrots, cabbage, and kale)
Red Onion diced
Heirloom Tomato (or your favorite kind of tomato) diced
Slivered Almonds
Canned Tuna (drained)
Avocado (1/4-1/2, cut up)
Crumbled Feta
Olive Oil
Basalmic Vinegar

Mix together everything except the olive oil and vinegar. (When I’m in a rush, I just throw all the ingredients into a plastic bag and shake!) and then drizzle with a little olive oil and Balsalmic vinegar as a dressing. I like to add a little pepper too. It’s delicious and filling.

Yum!

Yum!

What’s your favorite quick & easy healthy meal?

One thought on “Fit Friday: Eating Fit

Leave a Reply

