Fit Friday: Running Wives

Sometimes life is crazy – work, school, chores, etc. It all can consume you. But I feel like a good partner, good family,  a good glass of wine, and some running wives (as we’ve come to calling ourselves) can make it all ok. I have posted before about how my running friends keep me motivated and committed to my goals. But I feel like I can’t stress enough how much my running gals get me through my weeks.

5am run with Elise!

5am run with Elise!

We get up at 4:45am and run before sunrise, we face super hot hill climbs, we survive laps around the track, and sometimes we enjoy some whale watching while on our runs.

Wine at an expo? Yes please.

Wine at an expo? Yes please.

We sign up for races together – hard ones and fun ones. We push each other to reach our goals and help each other when we fall short of those goals.

Seriously these girls are rad.

Seriously these girls are rad.

We remind each other of what we are capable of doing. We remind each other how lucky we are – to have all these things in our lives: friendship, family, our community, our views while running.

Enjoying the view after climbing for over a mile.

Enjoying the view after climbing for over a mile.

Running friends move their runs around to make our schedules match, to get runs in together. We change our track workouts to run trails instead. We acknowledge hard workout days and have fun on easier ones.

Whale watching + running = multitasking

Whale watching + running = multitasking

I was an ok runner before I met and started running with these ladies. I’m still not a stellar runner but I’m a stronger one – largely because of them (and also thanks to a husband who understands why I might accidentally wake him up when I head our for an early morning run or make too many racing plans on our weekends).

So who helps you meet your fitness & running goals? Who are you running wives?

 

One thought on “Fit Friday: Running Wives

  1. Pingback: 2013 – Oh What a Year! | laugh.research.write.run

Leave a Reply

