Hanging in Boulder

This past weekend, the hubs and I ventured out to Boulder, Co. (if you read my last Fit Friday post, you already knew this). We visited Boulder partially because I had the opportunity to present at the Rocky Mountain Interdisciplinary History Conference at the University of Colorado. But we also have several friends in Boulder and were excited to visit them. In fact, we saw one of them as we were boarding the plane from San Jose (he had been in town briefly for work). This meant we had a buddy in our row on the flight (and I shared one of my Southwest drink coupons with him and Kevin).

Standard travel gear.

Standard travel gear.

Uh, Denver Airport has some interesting murals...

Uh, Denver Airport has some interesting murals…

... and saw this guy when we were leaving the airport.

… and saw this guy when we were leaving the airport.

Once we landed, our good friend Pat picked us up and we had an uneventful night since it was pretty late. But the rest of our weekend was all about good friends, good beer, good runs, and a good presentation (and excellent panel on engaging students) at the conference. I was able to see several, but not all of my friends, in the area. We visited the Aquarium in Denver and hiked a couple miles of the Chautauqua trails near the flatirons (much of the trails were closed due to the recent floods but we did get in a little exploring). We saw the Boulder History Museum and the Google offices. And we enjoyed some good BBQ and homemade pizza.

Yum!

Yum!

Our friend Ryan & his family have a great view!

Our friend Ryan & his family have a great view!

I had been a little worried about my presentation. My paper had gotten some tough critiques that I received the day we left and I wasn’t super excited about presenting it anymore. But it ended up going really well. The commenter provided some excellent feedback with some questions I hadn’t yet explored and that I think will really strengthen the essay. My co-panelist had a really interesting topic and helped me think of some new ideas for a lecture I need to give later in the semester.

Great running views

Great running views

Hiking in Boulder

Hiking in Boulder

I got in some excellent runs. While the elevation definitely made its impact, the runs were beautiful and varied. I joined one of Pat’s friends for the first one, explored an out and back route solo on Saturday, and got Pat’s girlfriend to show me a different loop on Sunday. Finding people to run with while traveling definitely makes the runs more fun!

Was happy to be reunited with this sweet little lady :)

Was happy to be reunited with this sweet little lady 🙂

Kevin and I had a great time in Boulder and for the friends we didn’t get to see, we will definitely be back!

One thought on “Hanging in Boulder

  1. Pingback: 2013 – Oh What a Year! | laugh.research.write.run

Leave a Reply

