So Cal Time!

This week, the hubs and I drove down to Southern California to celebrate his birthday and the 4th of July with my family before flying out to Maui. We haven’t been in So Cal as often this year as we usually have been in the past. And while this trip is short (just 4 full days) it has been so much fun!

Making the drive (Gus didn't make it into this photo but Sam made sure she was in it!)

Making the drive (Gus didn’t make it into this photo but Sam made sure she was in it!)

We got into town late Sunday night. But we were up and ready to go on Monday to celebrate Kevin’s birthday. I headed over to the gym to get in some Body Pump time. The 24 Hour Fitness by my parents’ house is SUPER nice! I love when I get to use their gym (but I was glad I wasn’t swimming when I saw the naked lady kicking it in there! Uh, excuse me public pool = WEAR A BATHING SUIT!). That night we went to one of our favorite old spots, Pizza Port. We had some tasty beer and pizza, you know just carbing it up! Then we played darts at Tom Giblins (ok it’s called O’Sullivans now, but it will always be Giblins to me!).

photo 2-1Tuesday Kevin had to work but I had fun. I ran one of my old routes near the coast (also part of the Carlsbad Marathon) and had coffee with Dad after. Tuesday was also a day for seeing old friends. I met up with Sharla and her new little boy for some more carbs at Panera. So much fun. Then FINALLY got my nails done (the last time I did my nails was before SFM! Wowzers!). Thanks Mom for the mani and pedi! Then off to see Amy. I haven’t seen Amy in FOREVER so this was really nice. Her hubs and two girls were also hanging out. (Her youngest is only 2 weeks old, insert mandatory “awe” here). Her older daughter is so awesome. We had a great time and I even left with some treasure as a gift from her daughter. The day ended with some good grilled food and family time.

With Sharla's son - he was quickly disappointed to find my thumb didn't have any milk.

With Sharla’s son – he was quickly disappointed to find my thumb didn’t have any milk.

Summer nails!

Summer nails!

Wednesday started with an early morning run with Nicole (aka HauteRunningMama). So much fun to finally meet her in person and get in a good run! And then a lazy day…

This morning, I finally ran the 5k at Coronado. This is a race I have wanted to run for a couple years but hadn’t had the opportunity before.

Patriotic Socks!

Patriotic Socks!

Start (that guy with the little pup was speedy!)

The Start (that guy with the little pup was speedy!)

The race didn’t go as well as I hoped (no PR this time!). It didn’t help that we started nearly 30 minutes late, meaning I had finished my warm up almost an hour before I actually raced. My first mile was strong, my second was ok, but my 3rd was way slow (for me). I’m not sure why I had more in me but didn’t push harder, I guess because I was passing some people. I ended up coming in 5th in my age group (of 73 runners, holy cow!) and 91st overall (men & women). I ended up with an official time of 22:10, 22:01 on my Garmin, and according to Strava mapping the course my run of the actual course was 21:43 (only 3 seconds off my PR). Garmin says I ran a little long (3.14 versus 3.1) but that’s no biggie. While I’m not thrilled with my results, it was fun to hang with the parents and to see Nicole and Monika pre-race.

Finish!

Finish!

Pretty nice tech tee/medal for a $35 race!

Pretty nice tech tee/medal for a $35 race!

We are finishing the day by hanging out at the Del Mar Fair (sorry it will never be the San Diego County Fair to me) to eat good fair food and watch fireworks.

Happy 4th of July!!!!

One thought on “So Cal Time!

  1. Pingback: 2013 – Oh What a Year! | laugh.research.write.run

Leave a Reply

