Bits O’ Energy

Several months back, the nice folks at Energy Bits sent me a sample of their product. I received them only a few weeks before the LA Marathon and I didn’t want to try anything new so close to a big race. Therefore, I didn’t really begin to try out the bits until halfway into April. Now it’s been about two months of using the bits and I’m ready to share my thoughts.

Screen Shot 2013-06-25 at 11.37.47 AM

Here’s the description of the bits according to their website

Want more energy, more mental vitality, or a healthy high protein snack you can grab on the go? How about a quick way to boost your athletic performance, supercharge your run or crank up your endurance while working or working out? If so, ENERGYbits® are for you. Made from 100% organicallly grown spirulina algae and loaded with 40 nutrients, ENERGYbits® algae tabs have the highest concentration of protein in the world (64%) all for just one calorie per tab. Endorsed by the United Nations as the most nutritious food on earth, spirulina algae has been a favorite of Olympic gold medalists for decades and is a super food in every sense of the word, delivering instant and enduring energy to your brain and body.

The package tells you to swallow or chew (I suggest swallow, spirulina algae isn’t terribly tasty) “30 tabs before a workout, when tired, or need more energy.” I have never taken 30 at once, I find 10-15 seem to do the trick (and I just can’t get myself to swallow up 30 very quickly!). I have used them before runs around 10-12 miles and for shorter runs when I don’t have time to eat before running. They do seem to provide me with energy to get me through a run. The best example I have is after a long night with little time for sleep, I had a long, early run. I consumed some bits and felt like I had tons of energy, even after the run!

Handful of Bits

Handful of Bits

What I particularly like about this product is whether it actually makes a difference or not, it is a product that is made from quality goods and full of nutrients. There have been runs where I felt like I couldn’t tell the difference, but I know that the nutrients and spirulina is good for me anyway.

bag_new_with_facebook_energy

They also have bits for different needs: recovery, health, and weight control. I have not tried any of these but here are brief summaries of each one (according to the company website).

Recovery Bits:  Meant to help you prevent from a cold, recover from a stressful day, illness or long trip. These bits are made from 100% chlorella algae.

Skinny Bits:Made from 100% organically grown spirulina algae,  64% protein, 40 nutrients and just one calorie per tab. Meant to help reduce hunger and cravings, and help users lose weight.

Vitality Bits: Meant to help maintain good overall health and made from 50% chlorella algae and 50% spirulina algae.

The Bits are a bit pricey (see what I did there! ha!). But the benefits seem worth it and they are a good addition to your day. I like to save my bits for hard workouts or days when I have a hard time getting pre-run nutrition, so they can last a good long while. And you can save 20% at check out using the code “run4will”! (Thanks Chris for sharing that discount!)

So, what are your thoughts? Have your tried Energy Bits? What did you think?

One thought on “Bits O’ Energy

  1. Pingback: Fit Friday: 8 Things to Try in August | laugh.research.write.run

Leave a Reply

