Change of Plans and Cheering On Runners

Today I cheered on my amazing running friends as they pounded the pavement at the Santa Cruz Half Marathon.

I had originally planned to run this race but after LA, I decided the smart thing to do was not to run. My friend and fellow teammate Charmin ran with my bib (I know, not condoned but I’m glad someone could run in my place) and I ran 8 miles, had some coffee, and became a race spectator. It’s not often that I have the chance to come out and cheer on my running friends, but it was a great experience! Several gals from Santa Cruz Endurance were racing today as were some of my twitter and dailymile friends. At first I thought I’d be bummed to not be racing one of my favorite (and my first half marathon) courses. But it was so much fun to cheer on friends! I knew I made the best decision for me. And I was lucky enough to watch my amazing friend, Jenn B., destroy her previous PR by 6 minutes (she came in 3rd woman, 1:26:55!!!!!). After running some easier runs with her on Thursday and Friday, I knew she would do really well but seeing her come up to the finish line was an amazing experience! I also spectated Hillary run her first race since joining the team!

Overall, it was a great day! It reminded me of why I am changing my plans, switching and dropping races, and setting my focus on my goal. It made me so proud to be part of a great running club. It reminded me of why I run, even though I didn’t race! Congrats to all my friends who ran this race, the Rock n Roll San Francisco Half, Carlsbad 5k, SacTown 10 Miler, the Hollywood Half, Golden Gate Headlands Trial Half, American River 50 Mile Endurance Run, and any other race this weekend!

One thought on “Change of Plans and Cheering On Runners

  1. Pingback: Breaking the 1:40 in the Half Marathon | laugh.research.write.run

Leave a Reply

