Modifying Your Training

I can’t believe it, the Asics LA Marathon is less than two weeks away! And I’m heading into quasi tapering with real tapering beginning this weekend. Wow, time as flown by.

LA Marathon Training, weekly mileage

LA Marathon Training, weekly mileage

This past week of training ended up being much different from I had expected. Here’s my overview from dailymile. I knew my mileage would be down from my previous week and I did hit my mileage goals. What changed was the types of runs I had scheduled versus what I actually ran. My original schedule included a Monday 6 mile run, a Tuesday track, a Wednesday 8 mile, a Thursday tempo, the normal Friday 5 @ 5, Saturday long run, and recovery 8 miles on Sunday. Well, my muscles felt tight and I was feeling a little strain on my knees (which I now think might be a combo from those tight miles and some poor sleeping form). I added in a lot of stretching this week, along with foam rolling, and sleeping with a pillow between my knees (I’m a side sleeper). And I dropped the tempo run, shortened my Wednesday run (adding in some mileage in later runs), and added in a bunch of hills. While my runs ended up being much slower, by running hills (Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday!) I increased my strength. The result? I felt great this morning on my 6 mile run!

Thursday Elevation

Thursday Elevation

Friday Elevation

Friday Elevation

Saturday Elevation

Saturday Elevation

Sunday Elevation

Sunday Elevation

Sometimes, training plans needs modification. I have been pretty faithful to my plan overall. I moved around some long runs to run the half in San Diego last weekend, but other than that I have stuck to my goals, always trying to hit the mileage and speed. While I’m proud of myself for that, I am also proud of myself for being willing to change last week’s plan. I listened to my body and instead of still being achy and tight this week, I’m ready for my runs and excited for tapering. Hills might not be a great modification for some runners, but clearly it was exactly what my body needed.

Are you logging/tracking your training for a marathon? Have your scheduled workouts/training sessions stayed on course or have you had to make modifications? Here are some other SFM Ambassadors who are tracking their training for LA: Marathon Living, Run with Wes, Muddy Runner, Keith’s Running Adventures, Fab Running, 365 Days of Awesome, Things to Say, Miles to Run, and of course, you can follow of our the ambassadors at the SF Marathon Blog.

Leave a Reply

