Take a Break? How about a Run or a Ride?

Everyone told me that after passing my qualifying exam, I should take a break. I had planned to take a week off… now I’ve taken almost 3 weeks off. Eh, that’s ok. I plan to start getting some work done tomorrow (grant research here I come).

So what have I been doing with all this free time? Well I gardened a little (my mother is amazed and in shock right now.. she knows best of all that I am a plant murderer) and I cleaned the house. But that pretty much took up a total of 5 hours. My life has otherwise been consumed with a massive amount of working out (at least massive compared to my workout schedule during course work). For example, last week I ran 38 miles, rode 26 miles, and did about 2 hours of abs and arm weight work. I love logging into dailymile and seeing this (notice my rest day? important!):

This is partially due to this lovely new addition to my life:

Sometimes I wish I could back and tell this all to Meg ten years ago. I hated running so much. I mean IĀ HATED running. I would do anything to avoid it. But now it’s one of my favorite things. I began with a desire to lose a few pounds. So, I started out so small. I would pick a landmark, in the beginning a lifeguard tower near my house, and run there. As I felt better, I’d add a little distance. My goal was to run 5 miles. Now I’ve run a marathon.

At the beginning of this month, I bought my first road bike. My friend, Pat, helped me find it on Craig’s List. I wasn’t sure how I would like cycling so I didn’t want to shell out a lot of money. My first ride was just shy of 7 miles and I braked as hard as I possibly could on every hill. I’m still pretty slow, but not nearly as wobbly and I rocked the downhills on tonight’s ride šŸ™‚

I love this new routine. I know that this free time won’t last, but I hope to maintain a similar schedule as I get into research and resume my teaching/TA schedule in the fall. But for now? I’m excited for my early morning trail run tomorrow!

Are you looking for a beginning running plan? You can start the way I did, with little goals. Or try the Couch to 5k, lots of people swear by this. I also suggest finding a podcast you enjoy, listening to a story or discussion can take your mind off the early difficulties of running. Keep the volume low, especially if you do run on the road, allow yourself to be aware of your surroundings. You should be having fun.. but also be safe!

2 thoughts on “Take a Break? How about a Run or a Ride?

  1. I just started the Couch to 5K! I think it is brilliant for post-partum workout buildups since I literally have been bound to the couch for the past several months (maybe year??) I was thinking to sign up now for a 5k that would be happening when I am nearing the end of the program, but I dont know if that would be too ambitious… I’ll let you know how it works for me!

  2. Yay! I think signing up for a 5k is a great idea and a way to keep you motivated! i would actually suggest you sign up for 2; one when the training plan ends and then another a few months later to keep you running. There is a fun run in November that you should look into: http://thecolorrun.com/ It’s not about time but its still fun. We are doing one like this in September. Also, the marathon in August has a 5k (might be too close but worth looking into): http://www.afchalf.com/ Just go to active.com and look for local events and you’ll find some šŸ™‚ I can’t wait to hear how your running goes!!

Leave a Reply

