Make Your Own Power Bars!

Recently, I joined a running club, Santa Cruz Endurance, to help me become a faster, stronger runner. This has been one of the best decisions I have made recently, not just because of all the running I have been doing but also because of the fab people I have met. One of these is an amazing woman, Shoshanah, who not only is a fast little runner and triathlete but also has great recipes to share. One of these were the delicious power bars that I’m sharing with you here. And you can modify to make them the way you want!

To make these tasty little treats that make a great snack or post run treat, you will need the following:

1 cup peanut butter
1 cup honey
3 cups raw oats
1/2 cup ground flax meal (or hempseed)
1/2 cup chopped nut (I mixed peanuts and walnuts)
1/2 cup dried cranberries (or your favorite dried fruit, I used raisins this time)
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1/2 cup chocolate chips (mini are best)
Mixer (stirring all this is hard stuff, see my video below)

Directions: Mix well and then press in a pan. Put in fridge for one hour before eating. That’s it! How easy, right? I put the dry ingredients in first and it worked great. I was even a little short on honey but they still turned out great.

Here’s the photo documentation of the process:

Ingredients

Pre Mixing

Ready to go in the fridge!

yum!

Try making these and let me know how they turn out. What nuts and dried fruit will you use?

Leave a Reply

