Encyclopedia of Meg: I

I is for ice cream! Not surprising, right? But yes, I love ice cream. I love to buy it (especially from the Penny Ice Creamery), I love to make it, but most of all I love to eat it! I feel the best way to address this beloved topic of mine is in three parts: discuss previously mentioned favorite ice cream shop, reveal a recent ice cream discovery, and share a recent ice cream making adventure!

The Penny Ice Creamery
I love this place, I mean true, heartfelt love. Sure, it’s a little pricey, but for me that’s a good thing. Why? Because it deters me from stopping by this wonderful place everyday! (And since I’m trying to cut back the sweets as I count down the days until wedding day, that’s even more important than usual.)

Photo compliments of Penny Ice Creamery's facebook page

But why do I love Penny so much? Because their ice cream is amazing! It’s made fresh from all local and in-season ingredients. You never know what will be on the menu when you stop by, but you know it will be different and delicious. My faves so far? Salted Caramel and Mascarpone Hazelnut, so so good. And today’s menu has fresh mint chip, I need to try that! I know, your mouth is watering, right? And to top it all off, they are at my local farmers market every week. Ice cream at 9am? Yes please.

New Find
A few weeks back, at the Target near my parents’ house, I made an amazing discovery: Ben & Jerry’s Volun-Tiramisu. What? Ice cream that’s also tiramisu? Yes please! Apparently, it’s a special flavor, only available at Target (another reason to increase my Target dependency).

Homemade Ice Cream
I love making ice cream and why wouldn’t I? You can combine your favorite flavors and control what goes into you dessert. Recently, I wanted to make some ice cream for a good friend who had done us a lot of favors as of late (pup-sitting, airport pickups, etc). I asked him what his favorite flavor was and he said cookie dough and cookies ‘n’ cream. Me too! I thought why not combine the too. After making chocolate chip cookies, I froze some batter for the ice cream. I added teaspoon-sized balls of the dough along with crumbled Joe-Joe’s cookies to Gidget’s vanilla ice cream. (I doubled the recipe and used vanilla bean paste since my local store didn’t have vanilla beans, but the paste worked great!) My super cookie ice cream turned out fantastic! Good for me? Of course not! But everything in moderation, right? (Well, maybe not everything!)

                  
Craving ice cream yet? Me too! Ok, I admit, I had to get some of this cookie/ice cream goodness out of the freezer!

Leave a Reply

