Moving Sucks… New House Does Not

I know, I know… It’s been a long time since my last post… but I have legitimate reasons. Or at least one. Since my last post, we moved and that ate up of all my free time. But I love the new place and pretty much all the hard stuff is done now. Also, today I learned that the new place is very safe and (for all you burglars out there) very difficult to break into.

So, at 6:30am I woke up to take the pups out. And simultaneously locked myself out. Along with my keys, my cell phone sat inside … so there I was in my pjs, Kevin’s giant-on-me sweatshirt, and Uggs with Gus & Sam (who by the way looked about as ridiculous as I did with her goofy post-surgery donut thing),. I proceeded to try every conceivable way to break into my place…. unfortunately (for me this morning) this apparently is impossible.

Post surgery Sam... this is not how she wanted to meet the neighbors.

After about an hour of attempting to break in, I heard some noises inside my neighbor’s kitchen. Thankfully, this is one of the two neighbors I have met. (Besides it being way too early to knock on anyone’s door, I was also terrified that since I had no proof that I actually lived here and barely know anyone in the neighborhood no one would help me). I knocked on the door and the neighbor and his wife (and their sweet dog) proceeded to help me for the next 30 minutes or so. Finally, along with the help of the one other neighbor I had previously met, I got back into the house! I repaid their kindness with Starbucks cards and homemade blueberry muffins (with a modified-on-the-fly recipe that surprisingly turned out well!).

So… what lessons did I learn? Well, for one listen to Kevin (he warned that by doing what I was doing I would lock myself out) and two, I apparently live in Fort Knox. So, that’s my excuse for not blogging recently. I’ll pick up my normal posts next month as the quarter finally starts to wind down. For now, I’ll continue grading and enjoying a glass of wine.

One thought on “Moving Sucks… New House Does Not

Leave a Reply

