My First Foray into Ice Cream Making

First, if it is possible to dedicate blog posts, I dedicate this one to Gidget. Her adventures in ice cream making through last year made me want to make homemade ice cream so badly. Well, for Christmas my fiancé got me an ice cream maker and yesterday I made my first batch! I chose one of my all time favorite ice cream flavors: cookies ‘n’ cream! Below is my photo essay of the adventure, complete with the tasty reward.

Some of my tasty ingredients

Crumbled Joe Joe's from Trader Joe's

Cooking the half & half, sugar, and egg yolks.

Everything all mixed together (minus the cookie crumbs)... smells like melted vanilla ice cream, yum!

Letting the mix chill.

After chilling for 8 hours, I finally got to start mixing!

Adding the cookies

Yum!

It made about a 1 3/4 quarts

Bowls for Kevin & I

I think he likes it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For those interested, I used the recipe for Vanilla ice cream that came with the ice cream attachment.

French Vanilla Ice Cream
2 1/2 cups half-and-half
8 egg yolks
1 cup sugar
2 1/2 cups whipping cream
4 teaspoons vanilla
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups chopped Joe Joe’s
In a medium saucepan over medium heat, heat half-and-half until very hot but not boiling, stirring often. Remove from heat; set aside.
Place egg yolks and sugar in mixer bowl. Attach bowl and wire whip to mixer. Turn to Speed 2 and mix about 30 seconds, or until well blended and slightly thickened. Continuing on Speed 2, very gradually add half-and-half; mix until blended. Return half-and-half mixture to medium saucepan; cook over medium heat until small bubbles form around edge and mixture is steamy, stirring constantly. Do not boil. Transfer half-and-half mixture into large bowl; stir in whipping cream, vanilla, and salt. Cover and chill thoroughly, at least 8 hours.
With ice cream attachment assembled and attached, turn to STIR (Speed 1). Using a container with a spout, pour mixture into freeze bowl. Continue on STIR (Speed 1) for 15 to 20 minutes or until desired consistency. Immediately transfer ice cream into serving dishes, or freeze in an airtight container.
Add cookie bits during last 1-2 minutes of freeze time.
One thought on “My First Foray into Ice Cream Making

Leave a Reply

