Baby, It’s Cold Outside: A Frigid Thanksgiving

Brr! It has been a cold couple of days here. I had planned on making this chilly Thanksgiving week a fruitful one. I decided not to go home and instead use the time off from classes to get caught up on grading, reading, and research. Instead, I spent time with good friends (old and new), raced, tasted wine, baked, learned to knit, and got some work done. Well, you know what they say about the best laid plans…

My holiday plans began the Saturday before Thanksgiving with a Turkey Trot. Kelly (who is sadly moving far away) and a couple of her friends also ran the race. Instead of shirts, the race gave out socks. How festive! I also took 3rd in my age division. After the race, we went wine tasting, since it was Passport Day! Despite the cold and rain, the wine was delicious and the company wonderful. Kevin joined us at the end of the day for dinner at a new friend’s place.

A few friends from school who also opted not to travel agreed to have Thanksgiving

together, hosted by the love Dustin & Erica. I made apple pie (from scratch), mashed potatoes, and sans-turkey stuffing. I baked the pie on Wednesday and left the rest for Thursday. Thursday morning I woke up to freezing temperatures (literally, 31 degrees!). I put on my running clothes, and headed to San Jose for the Run, Turkey, Run 10k. (Yes, another race… but hey, I had to burn some calories to make room for all the food I planned on eating later in the day.) I improved my time from Saturday by 20 seconds, but only came in 4th in my division. Once home, I peeled the potatoes, took the pup for an adventurous walk, and finished up all my Thanksgiving baking.  The afternoon/evening was wonderful, just what Thanksgiving is all about: good friends and good food. Oh and in case you wanted to know, my pie turned out delicious! I am so proud of myself!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The following day one of my oldest and most dear friends, Sarah, and her husband came to visit. They are expecting their first child and it was so great to see her glowing! We went out for some delicious food (complete with pizza throwing entertainment). The next

day we went to Mystery Spot, since they had never been before. Unfortunately that morning it had rained and rained and rained, not ideal conditions for rooming up a mountainside and an old wood cabin. Sarah also experienced extra queasiness from whatever it is that makes the spot mysterious. Sarah and Scott stayed for lunch and some Patagonia shopping and then continued on their way through the central coast.

I finally started to get some real work done, grading 30+ papers on the History of Sin and reading about the early Christian church. But then time for more fun, learning to knit! I have always wanted to learn to knit and finally had set up a time to learn some of the basics. Kelly introduced me to a fun little knitting shop in town. She also gave me some knitting needles and an introduction book. The shop was having a sale, so I bought a lot of yarn… hopefully to give me incentive. Despite some mishaps (adding extra loops and a few holes), I think I got the basic stitch down. I’m going to attempt to knit a little each day (a welcome break from work) so I don’t forget what I’m doing!

All right, I know this is a long blog… but what can I say? I had a busy week!

2 thoughts on “Baby, It’s Cold Outside: A Frigid Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

