Encyclopedia of Meg: B

B is for baking! Or books… how does one choose?

I can’t! So I’ll write a bit about both.

I love baking, especially this time of the year

when the weather cools down. While I try to bake healthy food to save us money and eat better, I love making desserts and mostly cookies. There is something wonderful about sweet cookies backing in the fall. And thanks to my stand mixer, I can whip delicious treats quickly. I want to try to make my first pie (by myself) soon too. I just finished some tasty pumpkin pie and am looking forward to making one myself.

Part of the reason that fall brings out the baking besides the cooler temperatures and falling leaves is that it also marks the beginning of another school year. Somehow all that work increases my cravings for buttery, sweet, delicious, home-baked goods. And hence there is a connection between my two B encyclopedia entries.

The school year brings not only the desire to bake more but the piling of books to read over the next 10 weeks. Recently we added a new bookshelf to the office (thanks Mom!) and it is quickly filling up with new books and library books to try to tackle soon. While I read all the time for school, I do love books. I love the feel and the smell of a book, new or old. You know the feeling. You buy a new book, you run your fingers along the pages, and flip through. You can smell the new paper and ink. I realize that environmentally and economically, ebook readers make more sense… but they lack the romance of books. Yes, it’s easier to bring [insert your ebook reader of choice] with you on a plane but is it as nice to curl up with a cold screen? Absolutely not! I love holding the book, with a steaming cup of coffee, and a fresh-baked cookie curled up on the couch with the fireplace crackling (I don’t have a fireplace, but I imagine having one some day).

So baking and books – they belong together and they represent B in my encyclopedia.

2 thoughts on “Encyclopedia of Meg: B

  1. Great post! It also made me wonder if eReaders are actually better for the environment. I mean, they are produced with batteries (or even more forms of heavy metals), plastics, and the energy that goes into their production might be substantial (though I’m sure books share this last bit as well). Plus eReaders will continue to consume energy throughout their lives. Here is one article claiming that if person completely cuts out paper consumption, then the eReader is environmentally sound. http://news.cnet.com/8301-11128_3-10320334-54.html
    It seems that buying used books greatly cuts down on negative environmental impacts.

    But I’m with you, Meg. There is something tangible and grounding about a real book that I feel connects me to the author and her immense amount of labor, an appreciation that is lost in the eBook.

Leave a Reply

