Moving

As I write this, I’m eating dinner at a table in a dining room (albeit a small one) for the first time since I can remember… at least in an apartment I could call my own. This is a nice way to end a very hectic week. We packed up the Uhaul and drove to northern California Sunday and Monday and have been unpacking since.

I’ve moved a lot (six times in four years), but this has definitely been the hardest move. Not only was it difficult to move away from the only place I have ever lived, moving 400+ miles away has its own special challenges. According to its website, a 14 ft. Uhaul should be plenty of room for packing up an apartment. This is not true. We did not move a bed and yet all of our stuff did not make it. My Jetta was packed full and there were some things we decided to leave with my parents for the time being. We were also moving with a dog, whose longest car ride until now had been about thirty minutes. She was very confused during the drive and had a couple of difficult first days. A trip to a dog beach yesterday seems to have cured her anxiety! But back to unpacking, once we made it up here, a few things had shifted in the Uhaul (largely due to their tight packing I’m sure) leaving some scratches on our furniture. We unloaded the Uhaul and my car and found ourselves left with an apartment full of cardboard boxes and little walking space. Five days later, there are only a few boxes left, and its beginning to look and feel like home. To anyone reading this that helped with the move, thank you so much!!

Since I’ve been up here, I haven’t had much time to explore, but I have found some delicious restaurants (a Greek place that challenges my favorite one at home, Emily’s Good Things to Eat and Saturn Cafe). I also stopped by school and filled out my required paperwork (there is a stack of forms when you are a teaching assistant) and the books for the class I will be a T.Aing. I’m really excited about this class since its in my area of focus, so I’m eager to start reading the books (plus I want to try to keep my reading load manageable this quarter). Finally, I love where I live so far. Our landlord loves my dog (I’m sure Sami thinks she’s the treat lady after all the goodies she got from her). We can hear the sea lions barking (or maybe their seals, but I think they’re sea lions). And it seems to be a quiet neighborhood, which is nice. This seems to be a good beginning.

Below are a couple of photos from the drive up and of the ocean.

Herbie in the hotel parking lot during the drive up!

Herbie in the hotel parking lot during the drive up!

Sami sleeping during the drive

Sami sleeping during the drive

My view during most of the drive

My view during most of the drive

Not far from where I live!

Not far from where I live!

Leave a Reply

